The 10 km long and 52 metres deep Rõuge primeval valley includes seven lakes: Kahrila Lake, Tõugjärv, Ratasjärv, Kaussjärv, Rõuge Suurjärv, Liinjärv, Valgjärv. The lakes are connected by the Rõuge or Ajo River, which begins in Tindiorg Valley. Rõuge primeval valley has a number of side valleys: Tindiorg, Külmorg, Mõhkorg, Ööbikuorg, Tinopeetri, Hinni, Sikasoo, and Järveotsa. The most famous of those is the 300 m long and 12-15 m deep Ööbikuorg by the northern border of the ancient castle hill. In spring, when the bird-cherry is blooming, the valley is full of the sound of singing nightingales, which is where its name comes from – Ööbikuorg is Estonian for Nightingale Valley. On the edge of Ööbikuorg, there is the Ööbikuorg visitor centre, where visitors can learn about the nature, history, and climate change.


My rout on map